Senate Democrats

Reid Announces Democratic Leadership For The 111th Congress

Washington, DC—Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid today announced the Senate Democratic Leadership for the 111th Congress.  

“I am honored to be re-elected as the Senate Majority Leader,” Reid said.  “It is a privilege that allows me to provide solutions to the challenges facing Nevada and the country.  I thank my fellow Democratic Senators for again entrusting me with this position.  This year has been particularly challenging for all Americans, and with a narrow majority, passing timely legislation has at times been difficult.   But I look forward to again leading my colleagues into the next session with a promise of unity and bipartisanship to deliver the results that we as a country need.” 

The Senate Democratic Leadership for the 111th Congress:

Robert C. Byrd, President Pro Tempore
As President pro tempore, Senator Byrd will continue to provide the Democratic Caucus leadership and experience gained from a lifetime of public service.

Dick Durbin, Assistant Majority Leader
As Assistant Majority Leader, Senator Durbin will continue to serve as the Majority Leader’s key aide on and off the floor, helping to lead the Democrats’ fight to protect America and help working families get ahead.

Charles E. Schumer, Vice Chair of the Conference
The third-ranking member of the Democratic leadership, Senator Schumer will continue to oversee strategy and policy to keep and build support for Democratic values.

Patty Murray, Secretary of the Conference
As Secretary of the Conference, Senator Murray will continue to play a critical role in helping shape and set the Democratic agenda.

Byron L. Dorgan, Chairman of Policy Committee
Senator Dorgan will continue to provide strong leadership at the Democratic Policy Committee (DPC).  Under Senator Dorgan, the DPC has been credited with conducting aggressive Congressional oversight and generating innovative policy ideas for the Democratic Caucus.

Debbie Stabenow, Chair of Steering and Outreach Committee
Senator Stabenow will continue to serve as Chair of the Steering and Outreach Committee.  In her role as chair, Senator Stabenow will engage Democratic Senators and community leaders across the country in an active dialogue about the pressing issues facing our nation. 

Jeff Bingaman, Chairman of Committee Outreach
As Chairman of Committee Outreach, Senator Bingaman will continue to provide a voice in the Democratic leadership for Committee Chairs.  Bingaman will harness the Committee Chairs’ tremendous knowledge and experience, and ensure their important committee work is advanced in a united and consistent manner.

Blanche L. Lincoln, Chair of Rural Outreach
Senator Lincoln will again serve as Chair of Rural Outreach.  This position was created in the 109th Congress as a sign of the Democrats’ strong commitment to aggressively engage and communicate with rural Americans.  In this post, Senator Lincoln will continue to guide rural outreach for the Caucus and find new ways to reach rural, suburban and exurban American communities.

Barbara Boxer, Chief Deputy Whip
As Chief Deputy Whip, Senator Boxer will continue to be responsible for managing and implementing Caucus efforts on the Senator floor. Working alongside the Democratic Leader and Assistant Democratic Leader, Boxer plays an instrumental role in articulating, advancing and achieving the objectives of the Democratic Caucus.

Thomas R. Carper, Deputy Whip
Bill Nelson, Deputy Whip
Russell D. Feingold, Deputy Whip
Serving as Deputy Whips, Senators Carper, Nelson and Feingold will play critical roles in marshalling the Caucus’s forces.